School Committee Update December 2015

 Posted by on December 11, 2015
Dec 112015

At the Wednesday, December 9 School Committee meeting, students were recognized for academic and community service performance:

DSC_0003Project 351 is a youth-driven service organization that brings together 8th grade Ambassadors from every city and town in Massachusetts to create positive change within communities.  Quincy’s Project 351 Ambassadors for 2016 (front row):  Juliana Tracey (Broad Meadows), Alyssa Gonzales (Central), Virginia To (Point Webster) and Mentors (back row): Daniel Gilbert and Ron Adams (Broad Meadows), Aaron Skowyra (Central), Jacqueline Principi (Point Webster) 

The American Education Week Poster & Essay contest featured students from Kindergarten through Grade 10 who created entries based on the theme “Great Public Schools: A Right and Responsibility.”

DSC_0013 Mrs. Maureen Fallon’s Kindergarten class from Wollaston Elementary School shared their 1st place winning poster featured community members working together to help build and support schools.

DSC_0017Wollaston Elementary School Kindergarten Paraprofessional Li-Fong Wong-Chau, Kindergarten Teacher Maureen Fallon, and Principal James Hennessy with students.


DSC_0021Grades 2-3 Essay Contest Winners (front row):  Casey Perdios (Grade 2, Clifford Marshall, 3rd place); Shauna Foran (Grade 3, Clifford Marshall, 1st place); Gia Hua (Grade 3, Lincoln Hancock, 2nd place) Back row:  Mayor Thomas Koch, Clifford Marshall Principal Nick Ahearn and Teacher Julie Barron; Lincoln Hancock Principal Ruth Witmer and Teacher Trudy Roybal, and School Committee Vice-Chair Kathryn Hubley.

DSC_0023Grades 4-5 Essay Contest Winners:  William Lam (Grade 4 Snug Harbor, 2nd place); Niamh Roland (Grade 4, Clifford Marshall, 3rd place); John Thomas Malvesti (Grade 5, Merrymount, 1st place)  Back row:  Mayor Thomas Koch, Teachers Susan Egan, Allison McGowan; Clifford Marshall Principal Nicholas Ahearn; Snug Harbor Principal Margaret MacNeil and Assistant Principal Michael Marani; Merrymount Teacher John Rogan and Principal Ann Pegg; School Committee Vice-Chair Kathryn Hubley

DSC_0027Grades 6-8 Essay Contest Winners: Jennifer Small (Grade 8, Central, 1st place); Jackson Zhao (Grade 8, Atlantic, 2nd place); Ryleigh Smith (Grade 7) and Margaret Fay (Grade 6), both from Broad Meadows, tied for 3rd place.  Back row:  School Committee Member Anne Mahoney, Central Principal Rick DeCristofaro, Jr. and Teacher Beverly McAuley; Atlantic Teacher Patricia Dunne and Principal Margaret MacNeil; Broad Meadows Teacher Ron Adams and Principal Daniel Gilbert; School Committee member Noel DiBona

DSC_0031Grades 9-10 Essay Contest Winners:  Frances Papandile (Grade 10, NQHS, 3rd place); Peter Anderson (Grade 10, NQHS, 2nd place), NQHS Teacher Sarah Casimiro; QHS Teacher Amy Bacchieri; Klei Hamzallari (Grade 10, QHS, 1st place).  Back Row:  School Committee Member David McCarthy, NQHS Principal Robert Shaw; QHS Principal Larry Taglieri, School Committee Members Barbara Isola, and Paul Bregoli

At the conclusion of the meeting, outgoing School Committee members Noel DiBona (2014-2015) and Dave McCarthy (2004-2015) were recognized for their years of service to the students, staff, and families of the Quincy Public Schools.

DSC_0043  DSC_0040School Committee Member Dave McCarthy with members of the Superintendent’s Leadership Team:  Kevin Segalla, Mary Fredrickson, Maura Papile, Beth Hallett, Erin Perkins, Mike Draicchio, Kevin Mulvey, James Mullaney, Madeline Roy, Keith Segalla, Judy Todd, Superintendent DeCristofaro



Quincy School Committee 2014-2015